How do I eject my SmartDesk Connect?

While we worked hard to make our software as robust as possible, unplugging the Thunderbolt without ejecting is the equivalent of yanking out your graphics card while the computer is still on.

Instructions for Mac

  1. Click the icon indicated in the image below on your MacBook's Menu Bar.
    To eject your MacBook, click the SmartDesk Connect icon from the top menu bar
  2. Select "Disconnect AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT" from the drop-down menu.
    To eject your MacBook, select "Disconnect AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT" from the drop down menu bar
  3. Your MacBook might show a pop-up as shown below indicating a list of programs preventing the eGPU from ejecting. When this happens, click on the "Force Disconnect" button in the pop-up and your MacBook will be ejected. 
    Disconnect eGPU message might appear when apps are still in use. Click on the "Force Disconnect" button in the pop-up.
  4. This will eject your MacBook from the SmartDesk Connect and the screens will turn black and display the "Ready" message.
    When your laptop is ejected, the SmartDesk Connect screen will have a black background with a "Ready to Connect" message
  5. Now, simply unplug the Thunderbolt cable from your MacBook to safely remove it from the SmartDesk Connect.

Wait a minimum of 10 seconds after unplugging your MacBook before plugging it back in. The MacBook might not recognize the SmartDesk Connect if it is plugged in immediately after unplugging.


Instructions for Windows

  1. Double-click the SmartDesk Connect icon in the Windows 10 notifications area. 
    To eject your laptop, double-click the SmartDesk Connect icon in the Windows 10 notifications area on your Desktop
  2. Once successfully ejected, the following message will pop up on your screen.
    Once ejected, a message on screen will inform you that your laptop is ready to be unplugged from the SmartDesk Connect
  3. Now, simply unplug the Thunderbolt cable from your laptop to safely remove it from the SmartDesk Connect.

Wait a minimum of 10 seconds after unplugging your laptop before plugging it back in. The PC might not recognize the SmartDesk Connect if it is plugged in immediately after unplugging.